1863: Anson Kanah Mills to T. H. F. Marsh

on

This letter was written by Anson Kanah Mills (1843-1922), a native of Paris, Westmoreland county, New York. He was the son of George Mills (1808-1854), a farmer, who had relocated to Sharon, Franklin county, Ohio, by 1850. His mother was Sarah Beatrice Green (1824-1900). Anson enlisted at the age of 18 on 20 May 1861 as a private in Co. D, 23rd Ohio Infantry. He mustered out of the service on 6 July 1864.

Anson married Alice Juliet Cossitt (1852-1939) on 19 December 1869 and took up residence in Mercer county, Missouri. In the 1880’s he relocated to South Dakota where he died in 1922.

TRANSCRIPTION

Fairfax Seminary Hospital
June 23, 1863

Friend Henry,

I received yours of the 19th several days ago but this is the first time that I could find to answer it. I have not heard from Amelia for some time so I can’t say how she is. I am getting along first rate here. I am at work in the dining room. It keeps me busy, I can tell you.

We have very exciting times here considering our location. There is a signal station here & a squad of cavalry is also stationed here. They have to go out scouting every night & signal all the day time. The rebs are not very far from us. They are way this of the Court House & have been seen rather too close to us to be comfortable.

I have just heard today of the removal of Joe Hooker from the command of the Army. What in hell is that for? Can you tell? Can anybody tell? Only that he has not been able with an inferior force to defeat a superior. I am almost tempted to dam[n] Abe Lincoln up hill & down for it. I suppose that he has some reason for it or he would not have done it but it is discouraging. I had confidence in Hooker if he had been let alone. The war will never end in our favor if it is carried on as it has been for the last year.

A squad of cavalry have just went past bound for a scout. I don’t envy them. I have had all that I want of it.

You remember Mr. Sage of Wellington? Well I came very near having a visit from him — only lacked about two miles. He (or rather his wife) had a brother wounded in the last cavalry fight & came to Alexandria to see him. He had been dead for several days. They tried to get a pass to come up here but citizens don’t have many privileges in Alexandria & so they had to go back with their labor for their pains.

When you write home, just send my love to the old folks & to the other one too.

Hoping to hear from you soon, I sign myself yours truly, — Anson K. Mills

T. H. F. Marsh

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment